Knowledge Base


Advertisement


Community Forums

What do the seeding settings in the set up mean?

Seeding is a process of sharing chunks of files that's been downloaded 100% with other users on the BitTorrent network. 

By ticking the 'Seed Finished Torrents' you allow other users on the BitTorrent network to download chunks of files you downloaded from the BitTorrent network yourself.

By ticking the 'Seed only on Wi-Fil' box, you allow other users on the BitTorrent network to download chunks of files you downloaded from the BitTorrent network yourself, but only if your device is connected to a Wi-Fi network. This option will allow you to avoid extra data charges from your mobile carrier.

If you don't tick any of the above options, you will not be seeding any files you've downloaded from the BitTorrent network. 

Remember it is always a good practice to seed [allow for upload] at least the same amount of data you've downloaded. Seeding makes the content available to on the BitTorrent network and speeds up the download rates for other users accross the network.






Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Article is closed for comments.